[V-TD08] Rulings and Q&A

Delayed posting because reasons.

Full Full Appeal, Farul (V-TD08/001)

Q: Does this unit’s CONT ability of “If you called a rear-guard during this turn” apply on the opponent’s turn as well if you meet the condition?
A: Yes, it does. If you called a rear-guard during your opponent’s turn, this unit gets [Power]+5000.

Q: Does this unit’s CONT ability of “If you called a rear-guard during this turn” apply if you called a card to (GC)?
A: No, it does not. A unit called to (GC) is a guardian, and is not a rear-guard.

Q: If you called more than one rear-guard this turn, does this unit’s CONT ability of “If you called a rear-guard during this turn” apply more than once?
A: No, it does not. This ability only  checks if you called a rear-guard this turn or not, and does not count for the number of rear-guards called.

Q: When resolving this unit’s AUTO ability, the number of rear-guards was not five. Can you draw a card if the number of rear-guards becomes five after resolution?
A: No, you cannot. The number of rear-guards must be five during resolution.

Graceful Prayer, Ami (V-TD08/002)

Q: At what point does this unit’s AUTO ability check the number of rear-guards for the condition of “if you have five rear-guards”
A: Reference to the requirement of “if you have five rear-guards” is made when this unit attacks a vanguard, specifically towards the end of the Attack Step. At that point, if the number of rear-guards is five, then the effect of [Power]+15000 will be applied to this unit.

Choco Love Heart, Liselotte (V-TD08/003)

Q: If your vanguard’s  grade is 0, can you ride this card from hand?
A: No, you cannot. Riding is different from calling, so while it can be called as a grade 1, it cannot be rode as a grade 1.

Q: With the ACT ability of “Violence Flanger” (V-EB02/043), the situation is such that you cannot call grade 1 cards from hand to (GC). Can you still call this unit from hand to (GC) as a grade 2 unit?
A: Yes, you can. It is possible to call this unit as a grade 2, as it is its original grade.

Q: At what point to you select the effect of “call it to (RC) or put it into your soul”?
A: You select it immediately after resolving the effect of “look at the top card of your deck”.

Q: After resolving this unit’s ability, it was removed from the field. Can you use the ability  of a second “Choco Love Heart, Liselotte” (V-TD08/003) this turn?
A: No, you cannot. You can only use this effect of “Choco Love Heart, Liselotte” once per turn. This includes all copies of this unit.
Yes, that was a deliberate Yu-Gi-Oh! reference.

Q: Can you choose not to play this unit’s AUTO ability, even if it fulfilled the condition of “When placed” and becomes stand by?
A: No, you cannot choose. As this ability became stand by, and you must play this ability*.
*Section of the Comprehensive Rules state the following: You must play your automatic abilities that are standing by, and cannot choose not to play.
*Same ruling applies to Special Message, Ourora (V-TD08/007)

Best of Best, Isabella (V-TD08/009)

Q: In the event where you can only select one rear-guard with the effect of “two of your other rear-guards get [Power]+5000 until end of turn”, can you still pay the cost and resolve the skill?
A: Yes, you can. You resolve as much of the ability as possible, and that one rear-guard gets [Power]+5000.


Kyrus Darkblade

Ponders on how to make Link Joker great again

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons