[V-EB06] Rulings and Q&A

Also known as the set with some very complex rulings.

Messianic Lord Blaster (V-EB06/001)

Q: A card with “Blaster” in its card name was revealed for your first drive check. When do you apply the effect of “you may call that card to an open (RC)”? Also if that card has an AUTO ability with the condition of “When placed”, at what point will it be resolved?
A: You call that card before the second drive check. Also, immediately after that, any “When placed” AUTO abilities will be resolved. After these resolutions, perform the second drive check.

Q: When this unit attacked while you have only five units with “Blaster” in their different card names, a different card with “Blaster” in its card name was revealed for your drive check and subsequently called by the effect of this unit’s AUTO ability. The condition of “if you have six units with “Blaster” in their different card names” of this unit’s CONT ability will be met, but will the effect of “this unit gets the original [Power] and [Critical] of all of your rear-guards” immediately apply?
A: Yes, it will. The effect applies immediately after meeting the condition.

Q: The condition of this unit’s CONT ability is “if you have six units with “Blaster” in their different card names”. Even if you have two units with the same name, do you count each one separately?
A: No you do not. Units with the same name do not count. Each unit with “Blaster” in its card name must have different card names.
*Similar ruling applies to Arc Saver Dragon (V-EB06/005), Blaster Arrow (V-EB06/011), Blaster Rapier (V-EB06/012), Blaster Javelin (V-EB06/013), and Blaster Dagger (V-EB06/014)

Q: What is “original [Power] and [Critical]”?
A: It refers to the [Power] and [Critical] written on the card itself.

Dragonic Overlord the Great (V-EB06/002)

Q: Can you call “Perdition Dragon, Dragonic Neoflame” (MBT01/010, BT17/011EN) by the effect of “call up to one “Dragonic Neoflame” from your drop zone to (RC)”?
A: No, you cannot. The card name of the card to be called must be exactly “Dragonic Neoflame”.

Q: Even if you cannot stand “Dragonic Neoflame” by the effect of “[Stand] this unit and one of your “Dragonic Neoflame””, is it possible to pay the cost of this ability and resolve it?
A: Yes, it is. Resolve as much of the effect as possible, and only this unit will stand.

Beast Deity, Azure Dragon (V-EB06/003)

Q: If the unit called by the effect of “call a card from your hand to (RC)” has an AUTO ability with the condition of “When placed”, is that ability resolved before conducting an attack?
A: Yes, it will be resolved before attacking.

Q: For a unit that attacks by the effect of “attack your opponent’s vanguard with that unit”, can a unit in the same column as that unit boost the attacking unit?
A: No, you cannot. When attacking by this effect, it is not possible to boost.
*Similar ruling applies to Beast Deity, Black Tortoise (V-EB06/025)

Q: The unit called by the effect of “call a card from your hand to (RC)” has “cannot attack”. How is the effect of “attack your opponent’s vanguard with that unit” resolved?
A: The attack is not performed.

Q: Can a unit called to the back row by the effect of “call a card from your hand to (RC), and attack your opponent’s vanguard with that unit” from the back row?
A: Yes, if it is an attack by an effect, it is possible for a unit in the back row to attack.
*Similar ruling applies to Beast Deity, Black Tortoise (V-EB06/025)

Q: If the unit called by the effect of “call a card from your hand to (RC)” has an AUTO ability with the condition of “when it attacks”, is that ability triggered by attacks with this effect?
A: Yes, it is. Even when attacking by an effect, the condition “when it attacks” of the ability is met.

Q: Is it possible to not call card from hand by the effect of “call a card from your hand to (RC)”?
A: No. If you have at least one card in hand, you must call a card from hand.

Wandering Starhulk Deity, Brandt Ringer (V-EB06/004), similar rulings apply to Wandering Starhulk Ruler, Brandt (V-EB06/009) for Critical and Heal triggers

Q: By this unit’s ACT ability, the trigger effects are changed. If the trigger effect of a Critical trigger is activated during the main phase by abilities of cards like “Oracle Queen, Himiko” (V-EB04 / 001), how is the effect of “Your vanguard gets [Critical]-1 until end of that battle” applied?
A: Only the power modifier is applied without increasing or decreasing the critical. The trigger effect of the Critical trigger is changed and applies “during that battle”. Hence, even if the trigger effect resolves, since there is no battle to refer to, the effect of [Critical]-1 will not be applied, and only the Power increase will be applied.

Q: By this unit’s ACT ability, the trigger effects are changed. If the trigger effect of a Heal trigger is activated, if the number of cards in your opponent’s damage zone is less than the number of cards in your damage zone, will the effect of “Deal one damage to your vanguard” be resolved?
A: Yes, it will be resolved regardless of the number of cards in the damage zones. The effect of the original Heal trigger that is changed includes the condition of “If you have equal or more number of cards in your damage zone than your opponent’s damage zone”.

Q: Does the effect of “Deal one damage to your vanguard” cause a damage check?
A: Yes, it does. In addition, if that damage check reveals a trigger that is changed, it will apply at that time.

Q: Does this unit’s ACT ability change the trigger effect of Stand triggers?
A: No, it is not changed because it is not specified in the ability.
*Similar ruling applies to Wandering Starhulk Ruler, Brandt (V-EB06/009), which extends that Front and Draw triggers are not changed.

Q: Does a vanguard attack with 0 or negative Critical hit?
A: If the attacked unit’s Power is less than or equal to the attacking unit’s Power, the attack will hit. However, no damage will be dealt.

Q: Can a Critical value become negative by the effect of this unit’s ACT ability.
A: Yes, the effect of “Your vanguard gets [Critical]-1 until end of that battle” may result in a negative Critical value. In which case, the attacking unit will not deal damage. There is no such thing as dealing zero or negative damage.

Q: Does the effect of this unit’s ACT ability apply to any trigger effects activated by drive checks or damage checks?
A: Yes, it does.

Q: Does the effect of this unit’s ACT ability apply to trigger effects activated during a battle that a rear-guard attacked?
A: Yes, it does. The effect lasts until the end of your opponent’s turn, and does not refer to which unit is battling.

Arc Saver Dragon (V-EB06/005)

Q: Can I add this card to my hand when adding a grade 3 card to my hand with G Assist?
A: No, you cannot. The cards looked at during a G Assist is considered a card in the deck. Hence, you cannot add this card which only gets the effect of “grade-1” when on (VC) or in hand.

Q: Is it possible to call a card with “Blaster” in its card name that was flipped face down by the cost of this unit’s AUTO ability of “Counter Blast (3)”?
A: No, it is not possible. Face down cards in the damage zone cannot be called, because they do not contain information that it has “Blaster” in its card name.
**Section 4.8.2.2 of the Comprehensive Rules state that “Cards that are face down in the damage zone do not have any information and cannot be given any information“. This means that face down cards in the damage zone have no name to refer to, and will not have “Blaster” in their card name.

Dragon Full-armored Buster (V-EB06/006)

Q: Even if the effect of “choose one of your opponent’s rear-guards, retire it” cannot be resolved, is it possible to pay the cost of this unit’s AUTO ability and resolve the rest of it?
A: Yes, it is. In this case, the effect of “look at seven cards from the top of your deck, reveal up to one card with “Overlord” in its card name from among them, put it into your hand, and shuffle your deck” will be resolved as much as possible.

Q: Is this unit’s CONT ability active during your opponent’s turn?
A: Yes, it is.

Sabel Dragonewt (V-EB06/007)

Q: Is the condition of “When your opponent’s rear-guard is retired during your turn” fulfilled even if your unit’s attack hits and retires a rear-guard?
A: Yes, it is.

Clay-doll Mechanic (V-EB06/008)

Q: Your vanguard attacked, and the AUTO ability of two copies of “Burstraizer” (V-BT01/039) are activated. By resolving the first one’s AUTO ability, this unit’s AUTO ability with the condition of “When you Counter Blast” is satisfied. Can you resolve this unit’s AUTO ability before resolving the AUTO ability of the second “Burstraizer”?
A: Yes, you can. The AUTO abilities of the second “Burstraizer” and this unit both go on standby, and you can resolve them in any order.

Blaster Arrow (V-EB06/011)

Q: How is the effect of “they cannot be chosen by your opponent’s effects” applied?
A: It prevents effects with the text of “choose” in the effect. Effects that do not have “choose” can still be applied.

Blaster Dagger (V-EB06/014)

Q: If a grade 2 or greater unit with “Blaster” in its card name gets “Boost”, can that unit boost?
A: Yes. If it has “Boost”, it can boost regardless of grade.

Dragonic Neoflame (V-EB06/015)

Q: Does this unit’s AUTO ability trigger for when “Perdition Emperor Dragon, Dragonic Overlord the Great” (MBT01/003, BT17/001EN) attacks?
A: No, the condition is only fulfilled when a card whose name is exactly “Dragonic Overlord the Great” attacks.

Q: Does the attack of “[Critical]+1” continue to apply to “Dragonic Overlord the Great” for that turn?
A: No, it does not. It only applies for that battle, and does not apply to further attacks by [Stand].

Q: Does this unit’s AUTO ability trigger if a rear-guard “Dragonic Overlord the Great” attacks?
A: Yes, it does.

Brutal Jack (V-EB06/017)

Q: Can I choose a rear-guard that is already resting for the cost of “[Rest] two rear-guards”?
A: No, you cannot. A [Rest] rear-guard cannot be [Rest] further. You can only [Rest] a [Stand] rear-guard to pay the cost.

Starhulk, Letaluk (V-EB06/018)

Q: If you did not bind the card you looked at, where will it be placed?
A: It is placed on the top of your opponent’s deck.
*Similar ruling applies to Starhulk, Gicurs (V-EB06/030)

Q: Does this unit’s AUTO ability with the condition of “When your drive check reveals a card with “Starhulk” in its card name” trigger every time the condition is met?
A: Yes, it does, since it does not include any restrictions like [1/Turn].

Taint-less Feather Dragon (V-EB06/019)

Q: Can you call to your opponent’s rear-guard circle by the effect of “choose a column, call up to two cards from your hand to (RC) in that column”?
A: No, you cannot. You can only call to your own (RC).

Fire Rage Dragon (V-EB06/022)

Q: If you cannot retire the same number of rear-guards as the grade of the card put into the drop zone, do you retire any unit?
A: Yes, you do. You retire as many as possible.

Megaton Powerdon (V-EB06/024)

Q: If this unit’s AUTO ability with the condition of “When this [Rest] unit is retired from (RC)” is activated and is standby, can I choose not to play that ability?
A: No, you cannot. You must play this standby ability, and cannot choose not to play it at the player’s discretion.

Q: This unit is retired and bound by the effect of “choose one rear-guard, retire it, and bind that card”, is its AUTO ability activated?
A: Yes, it is, because it is retired. However, it cannot return itself to the hand because it does not exist in the drop zone (it is instead in the bind zone).

Q: A new unit is called to the (RC) that this [Rest] unit is on. If this card is retired by rule action, is the condition of “When this [Rest] unit is retired from (RC)” fulfilled?
A: Yes, it is.

Q: Is it possible to add this unit from the drop zone to your hand by its own AUTO ability?
A: Yes, it is.

Beast Deity, Black Tortoise (V-EB06/025)

Q: Is it possible to play this unit’s ACT ability while it is already [Stand]?
A: Yes, it is.

Decaydal Automata (V-EB06/027)

Q: Does this unit’s CONT ability for “The trigger unit revealed by the third drive check of each turn or more” apply to both players?
A: Yes, it does.

Q: Will a trigger unit be placed in the drop zone if the first or second drive check reveals a trigger unit?
A: No, it will not. A trigger unit will only be placed in the drop zone if it is revealed for the third or more drive check.

Q: While this unit’s CONT ability is applying, is it possible to put a trigger unit revealed for the third or more drive check into the soul with the effect of “Pathfinder of Wind” (V-BT04/076)?
A: Yes, it is.

Refreshing Knight, Guruhiru (V-EB06/031)

Q: Does this unit’s condition of “if you have five rear-guards” count this unit that was just placed?
A: Yes, it does.

Demonic Dragon Mage, Kimnara (V-EB06/034)

Q: This unit’s ACT ability is activated while the CONT ability of “Blaster Arrow” (V-EB06/011) is active, preventing you from choosing units with “Blaster” in their card names. Is it still possible to retire those rear-guards with “Blaster” in their card names?
A: Yes, it is. In this case, since you cannot choose any of your opponent’s rear-guards, all of your opponent’s rear-guards will then be retired.

Lethal Shock, Jetshaft (V-EB06/040)

Q: There are multiple units with “Intercept” in the opponent’s front row. If you play this unit’s AUTO ability, do all of them intercept?
A: Yes, they will all intercept, and they will do so at the same time.

Q: In the guard step where the effect of “your opponent intercepts as much as possible until end of that battle” is applying, must you intercept first before performing other actions such as normal calling guardians?
A: Yes, you have to intercept first. Once you are no longer able to intercept, then you can perform other actions.

Q: The sum of Power of this unit and the unit being boosted is less than the Power of your opponent’s unit being attacked. In this case, if this unit’s AUTO ability is played, and effects resolved, is it still necessary for your opponent to intercept?
A: Yes, it is. Regardless of the Power of either unit, all your opponent’s units with “Intercept” that can intercept should do so as much as possible.

Q: In the guard step where the effect of “your opponent intercepts as much as possible until end of that battle” is applying, after intercepting, a new rear-guard with “Intercept” is placed. Will that rear-guard need to intercept?
A: Yes, it also needs to intercept. It will intercept during the check timing immediately after being placed.

Source

Kyrus Darkblade

Ponders on how to make Link Joker great again

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons