[V-BT03] Rulings and Q&A

Rulings update the day before the set release, as per usual.

Monarch Sanctuary Alfred (V-BT03/001)

Q: “Sage of Salvation, Benon” (V-MB01/003) is in your soul, and has “Alfred” in its card text instead of its card name. In this case, is the condition of “if you have a card with “Alfred” in its card name in your soul” satisfied?
A: No, it is not. There must be a card with “Alfred” in its card name in your soul. Having “Alfred” in its card text does not count.

Q: There is no card with “Alfred” in its card name in your soul when resolving this unit’s ability. If after resolution, will it still get [Critical]+1?
A: No, it will not. To get [Critical]+1, there must be a card with “Alfred” in its card name in your soul during the resolution of this ability.

Q: When resolving this unit’s ability, there is no “Blaster Blade” in drop zone to return to hand. In this case, will this unit still get [Power]+15000?
A: Yes, you resolve as much of the effect as possible. Hence, this unit will get [Power]+15000, and if there is a card with “Alfred” in its card name in your soul, it will also get [Critical]+1.

Pentagonal Magus (V-BT03/002)

Q: You have three cards in hand and two rear-guards in the front row with “Magus” in their card names. You cannot pay the original cost of “discard five cards from your hand”, but can you still pay the reduced cost?
A: Yes, you can. You do not have to have five cards in hand to pay the cost of this ability, you only need enough to pay the cost after the reduction.

Q: “The [Power] increase of trigger effects revealed for your drive check get +5000.” Can you apply [Power]+10000 and [Power]+5000 separately?
A: No. The +5000 is applied to the [Power] increase, so the [Power] increase becomes 15000. This must be applied all to one unit, and cannot be shared between units.

Q: While this unit is on (VC), a trigger was revealed for a damage check. Will the [Power] increase get +5000?
A: No, it will not. “Drive check” and “damage check” are different actions, and are not interchangeable.

Q: How many drive checks can be performed in total if drive+3 is applied to this unit with “Twin Drive!!”?
A: Five drive checks will be performed.

Raven-haired Ezel (V-BT03/003)

Q: Will the effect of “your opponent cannot call sentinels from his or her hand” apply during a battle other than when it attacked?
A: No, it is only in effect when this unit itself attacks.

Q: “Incandescent Lion, Blond Ezel” (V-EB03/002) was ridden this turn by its ACT ability as [Stand] and it got drive-1. This unit then rides on that turn by its own ACT ability. Will the drive-1 which was applied to “Incandescent Lion, Blond Ezel” then be applied to this unit?
A: No. The effect of drive-1 will not be inherited by this unit.

Covert Demonic Dragon, Magatsu Storm (V-BT03/004)

Q: This unit and all rear-guards are attacked by “Exculpate the Blaster” (V-MB01/001). In this case, can I activate this unit’s AUTO ability, retiring two rear-guards to prevent it from being hit?
A: Yes it is. During check timing, this unit’s AUTO ability “When this unit is attacked by an opponent’s vanguard…” will resolve, and you can pay the cost to prevent it from being hit that battle, even if the rear-guards that you choose to retire for this cost are also being attacked at the same time.

Q: Is it possible to choose the pseudo-card “Protect” with the effect of “call three cards from your hand to (RC)”?
A: You may choose, but you cannot call it to (RC). Also, since “Protect” did not leave your hand, it is not erased.

Detonix Drill Dragon (V-BT03/005)

Q: When resolving this unit’s AUTO ability, you chose not to pay the cost of “Counter Blast (1)”, and hence, will not apply the effect of “choose a rear-guard in your opponent’s front row, and bind it”. In this case, can you pay the cost of “discard the same number of cards from your hand as the number of your opponent’s rear-guards” to apply the effect of “[Stand] this unit, and it gets [Power]+5000/drive-1 until end of turn”?
A: No, you cannot. Because of the word “then” in the card text before the second cost text, you must pay the first cost of “Counter Blast (1)” to be able to pay the second cost.

Q: Will the effect of “[Power]+5000/drive-1” be applied on the first battle it attacked when it resolved this ability?
A: No. The “[Power]+5000/drive-1” is only applied at the end of the first battle.

Q: Do you pay the cost of “discard the same number of cards from your hand as the number of your opponent’s rear-guards” at the end of that battle?
A: No, you pay that cost immediately after applying the effect of “choose a rear-guard in your opponent’s front row, and bind it”.

Scarlet Witch, CoCo (V-BT03/008)

Q: With the effect of “discard any number of cards with “Witch” in their card name”, is it possible to discard one or none?
A: Yes, it is. You may discard any number of cards, so you may choose to discard one or none if you so desire.

Q: After you draw two cards, if one or both of those cards have “Witch” in their card names, is it possible to discard them for the effect of “discard any number of cards with “Witch” in their card name”?
A: Yes, it is. The part of the ability that discards from hand applies after the part that draws two cards. Therefore you can discard the cards you drew with this unit’s effect.

Tetra Magus (V-BT03/009)

Q: Is it mandatory to reveal a Critical trigger and place it on the top of your deck, even if you have a Critical trigger in your hand?
A: No, it is not mandatory to reveal a Critical trigger in your hand.

Great Silver Wolf, Garmore (V-BT03/010)

Q: Is it mandatory to call a card after looking at three cards from the top of your deck?
A: Yes, it is mandatory.

Q: Is this unit’s CONT ability active during your opponent’s turn?
A: Yes, as long as the condition of “If you have one or less cards in hand” is met, this ability will be active.

Q: Is it possible to apply the effect of “six of your units get [Power]+3000” if you have less than six units?
A: Yes, in which case, all of your units will get [Power]+3000. (You cannot give [Power]+3000 twice to the same unit)

Stealth Dragon, Magatsu Gale (V-BT03/011)

Q: At the end of the battle it attacked, this unit ceases to exist on the field due to other abilities. Is it still possible to pay the cost of “put this unit into your soul” and apply the effect of “return one of your rear-guards to your hand”?
A: No, it is not. You cannot pay the cost of this ability and hence cannot apply the rest of the effect.

Dragonic Deathscythe (V-BT03/013)

Q: During the battle that it attacked a vanguard, the opponent’s rear-guard in the front row in the same column as it intercepts. Will the effect of [Power]+5000 be applied to this unit?
A: Yes, it will. After intercepting, the condition of “if your opponent has no front row rear-guards in the same column as this unit” is satisfied, so this unit will get [Power]+5000.

Q: This unit is on (RC) gained by “Imaginary Gift: Accel”, and the opponent has not gained any additional (RC) from “Imaginary Gift: Accel”. Will the effect of [Power]+5000 be applied to this unit?
A: Yes it will. If there is no (RC) gained by “Imaginary Gift: Accel” of your opponent in the same column as this unit, then this unit will get [Power]+5000.

Swordsman of the Explosive Flames, Palamedes (V-BT03/014)

Q: Will this unit’s AUTO ability activate a card is put into your drop zone from your soul multiple times during this turn?
A: Yes, this unit’s AUTO ability will activate each time the condition of “When a card is put into your drop zone from your soul” is met.

Q: By the ACT ability of “Soul Saver Dragon” (V-BT01/005), five cards were Soul Blasted at the same time. How many times will this unit’s AUTO ability activate?
A: Five times, once for each card Soul Blasted.

Wisteria Witch, ZoZo (V-BT03/016)

Q: When revealing any number of “Imaginary Gift: Protect” in your hand, can you also reveal cards with the “Imaginary Gift: Protect” icon?
A: No, you must reveal the pseudo-card “Protect” in your hand, not cards with the gift icon.

Shura Stealth Dragon, Kujikiricongo (V-BT03/020)

Q: If you return a grade 2 rear-guard to your opponent’s hand by your card’s ability, can your opponent intercept with grade 2 cards that turn?
A: Yes, they can. “Call” and “intercept” are different actions, so while your opponent cannot call grade 2 cards that turn, they can still intercept with grade 2 cards.

Q: If you return a grade 0 plant token to your opponent’s hand, can your opponent still call grade 0 cards?
A: No, they cannot.

Q: A plant token is returned to your opponent’s hand. Will the AUTO ability of “When your opponent’s rear-guard returns to the hand by your card’s ability” activate?
A: Yes, it does. While the plant token is immediately erased when returned to hand, this unit’s AUTO ability still activates for that plant token.

Stealth Dragon, Magatsu Breath (V-BT03/021)

Q: When you activate this unit’s AUTO ability to return all your rear-guards in the same column as it to your hand, do you return locked units?
A: No, you do not. Locked units are not considered as rear-guards, so they will remain on the field.

Q: When you activate this unit’s AUTO ability to return all your rear-guards in the same column as it to your hand, do you return this unit itself?
A: Yes, you do, because it counts as a rear-guard in the same column as itself.

Rising Phoenix (V-BT03/024), same rulings apply to Dusty Plasma Dragon (V-BT03/039) and Lightning of Hope, Helena (V-BT03/041)

Q: Will this unit’s AUTO ability activate when a card is bound from your opponent’s drop zone?
A: No, it will not. Cards in the drop zone are not rear-guards, so when they are bound, the condition of “When your opponent’s rear-guard is bound during your turn” is not satisfied.

Stealth Rogue of a Thousand Blades, Oborozakura (V-BT03/034)

Q: If you do not pay the cost of “Counter Blast (1)”, can you still Soul Charge (1) if you have one or less face-up cards in your damage zone?
A: No, you cannot. If you do not pay the cost of the ability, the rest of the ability will not resolve.

Stealth Rogue of the Night, Sakurafubuki (V-BT03/035)

Q: If you do not pay the cost of “discard a card from your hand”, can you still Counter Charge (1) if you have one or less face-up cards in your damage zone?
A: No, you cannot. If you do not pay the cost of the ability, the rest of the ability will not resolve.

Stealth Fiend, Oboro Cart (V-BT03/036)

Q: After resolving this unit’s AUTO ability, the grade 3 unit in the same column as this unit that had its [Power] doubled subsequently had its [Power] increases by other effects and abilities. Will those subsequent [Power] increases also be doubled?
A: No, its [Power] will only double at the time when it is chosen. Any subsequent [Power] increases did not change the [Power] that unit had when chosen, so it will not be doubled.

Stealth Dragon, Dreadmaster (V-BT03/037)

Q: When resolving this unit’s AUTO ability, you chose not to pay the cost of “discard a card from your hand”, and hence, will not apply the effect of “draw a card”. In this case, if the condition of “your vanguard is “Shura Stealth Dragon, Kujikiricongo”” is satisfied, can you pay the cost of “Soul Blast (1)” to apply the effect of “your opponent chooses one of their rear guards, returns it to the hand, chooses a card in their hand, and discards it”?
A: No, you cannot. Because of the word “then” in the card text before the second cost text, you must pay the first cost of “discard a card from your hand” to be able to pay the second cost.

Q: Your opponent returned a plant token to their hand by the effect of this unit’s AUTO ability. Can they then choose the plant token to discard?
A: No, they cannot. The plant token is immediately erased when returned to hand, so it cannot be discarded.

Q: Your opponent has no rear-guards to return to their hand. In this case, do they still have to choose a card from their hand to discard?
A: Yes, you resolve as much of the effect as possible. Hence, they have to choose a card to discard from their hand, even though they have no rear-guards to return to hand.

Crescent Magus (V-BT03/054)

Q: Will this unit’s AUTO ability still activate if it is placed in your trigger zone by a damage check?
A: Yes, it will. In the cases of both drive checking and damage checking, cards will be placed in the trigger zone, and hence, the condition of “When placed in your trigger zone” will be satisfied.

Stealth Beast, Kokushigarasu (V-BT03/064)

Q: If your opponent has less than five cards in their hand, will the effect of “your opponent chooses five cards from his or her hand, and discards them” resolve?
A: Yes, it will resolve. In this case, your opponent needs to select and discard as many cards in their hand as possible, which will be all of them.

Q: For the cost of “discard two sentinels from your hand”, can you also discard the pseudo-card “Protect”?
A: Yes, you can.

Shura Stealth Dragon, Kabukicongo (V-BT03/065)

Q: If you return your opponent’s plant token to the hand, will it count towards “the same number of cards…as the number of cards returned”?
A: Yes, it will. While the plant token is immediately erased when returned to hand, it counts as a card returned, and hence your opponent will discard a card for that returned plant token.

Dragon Dancer, Regina (V-BT03/081)

Q: Does the effect of “three of your rear-guards get [Power]+5000” apply if you have less than three rear-guards?
A: Yes it does, in which case the effect will be applied to as many units as possible.

Premium Rulings

Monarch Sanctuary Alfred (V-BT03/001)

Q: Does this unit’s CONT ability apply for “Blaster Blade Spirit” (BT09/019) or “Blaster Blade Exceed” (G-LD03/004)?
A: No, it does not. The text does not state “with “Blaster Blade” in its card name”, and instead states the exact card name, so only units with the exact card name of “Blaster Blade” will get the [Power] and [Shield].

Dragonic Kaiser Vermillion (V-BT03/023)

Q: This unit was placed to the left of “Dragonic Kaiser Crimson” (G-BT02/012) in a Legion state. Can you obtain “Imaginary Gift: Accel” at this time?
A: No, you cannot. “Imaginary Gift: Accel” can only be obtained by a Normal or Superior Ride. If a card is placed in the Vanguard circle by Legion, it does not count as a ride. Therefore, you cannot obtain “Imaginary Gift: Accel” in this way.

Q: Can you still Legion this unit with “Dragonic Kaiser Crimson” (G-BT02/012), even though the [Power] of this unit is different from “Dragonic Kaiser Vermillion” (BT06/006)
A: Yes, you can still put “Dragonic Kaiser Vermillion” (V-BT03/023) to the left of “Dragonic Kaiser Crimson”, as it has the specific name specified by the Seek Mate ability of “Dragonic Kaiser Crimson”.

Source

Kyrus Darkblade

Ponders on how to make Link Joker great again

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons