[V-EB05] Rulings and Q&A

Featuring rulings related to Melody and other weird and sometimes confusing rulings.

Colorful Pastorale, Sonata (V-EB05/001)

Q: If “Top Star, Cier” (V-EB05/006) is revealed by the effect of “reveal cards from the top of your deck until a card with [Melody] is revealed”, is it referred to as “a card with [Melody]”?
A: No, it is not referred to as “a card with [Melody]”. “A card with [Melody]” refers to a card with the [Melody] icon at the beginning of its skill.
*Similar ruling applies to Colorful Pastorale, Serena (V-EB05/003) and Top Star, Cier (V-EB05/006)

Q: If no card with “Melody” was revealed by the effect of “reveal cards from the top of your deck until a card with [Melody] is revealed”, what happens to the revealed cards?
A: The cards will be returned back to the deck and the deck will be shuffled. “Reveal” does not change the zone the cards are in, also revealed cards are returned to their original zone after the effect to reveal is resolved.

Q: There are 4 copies of “Colorful Pastorale, Sonata” on your (VC) and (RC). How much [Power] do all of your [Melody] units get?
A: By stacking the [Melody] ability of each “Colorful Pastorale, Sonata”, the total [Power] gain is 20000.

Colorful Pastorale, Canon (V-EB05/002)

Q: In the situation where this unit is on (VC), you ride a new unit with [Melody]. Can you Soul Charge (1) with the Melody ability of this unit that was originally on (VC)?
A: Yes, you can. [Melody] abilities are shared to all units that are on the field and are being placed on the field. Therefore, you can Soul Charge (1) when placing a unit with [Melody] on the circle this unit is on.

Q: This card is no longer on the field after resolving its ACT ability. Does the effect of “until end of turn, when your opponent would call guardians from his or her hand, he or she can only call two or more” still apply?
A: Yes it does, even if the card leaves the (VC) by any way, it still continues to apply that turn.
*Same ruling applies to Colorful Pastorale, Fina (V-EB05/004)

Q: Does the effect of “when your opponent would call guardians from his or her hand, he or she can only call two or more” apply during the rear-guard’s attack?
A: Yes it does. There is no designation such as “during the battle your vanguard/rear-guard attacked”, and it therefore applied to all of your attacks.

Colorful Pastorale, Serena (V-EB05/003)

Q: Is it possible to play this unit’s ACT ability even if there are only two cards with [Melody] in the drop zone?
A: Yes, it is. Even if you cannot return three cards, you return as many cards as possible, in this case, two.

Q: There are two “Colorful Pastorale, Serena” (V-EB05/003) on the field and four cards in hand. At this time, the attack of one of them hit. How many times does the effect of “draw a card” resolve?
A: The condition of “if you have four or less cards in your hand” refers to the number of cards in hand at the time of resolution. So if that number becomes 5 when resolving the second ability, you do not draw a card.

Colorful Pastorale, Fina (V-EB05/004)

Q: The effect of “you activate effects with “when hits” even when they do not hit for the battles of this turn” is applying. A unit with an AUTO ability with the condition of “when hits” attacks an opponent’s unit, but that opponent’s unit ceases to exist for some reason, and the attack does not hit. Does that unit’s AUTO ability trigger?
A: Yes, it does. Even if the attacked unit ceases to exist, and the attack no longer hits, the AUTO ability with the condition of “when hits” will still trigger.

Q: The effect of “you activate effects with “when hits” even when they do not hit for the battles of this turn” is applying. Does an AUTO ability with the condition of “when the attack it boosted hits” trigger if that boosted attack does not hit?
A: Yes, it triggers and becomes standby.

Q: The effect of “you activate effects with “when hits” even when they do not hit for the battles of this turn” is applying. Does an AUTO ability with the condition of “when its attack hits a vanguard” trigger if that attack on a rear-guard does not hit?
A: No, it will not trigger. The attack must be against a vanguard.

Q: After this unit’s ACT ability resolved, a unit was called with an ability with the condition of “when hits”. Does the effect of “you activate effects with “when hits” even when they do not hit for the battles of this turn” apply to that newly called unit?
A: Yes, it applies.

Q: In the case where there are multiple copies of this unit, when a unit with [Melody] intercepts, does the AUTO ability with the condition of “When it intercepts” shared from this unit activate as many times as the number of copies of this unit?
A: Yes, the AUTO ability with the condition of “When it intercepts” is triggered a number of times equal to the number of copies of this unit on the field.

Q: Does this card’s AUTO ability with the condition of “When it intercepts” trigger if it itself intercepts?
A: Yes, it does. Its AUTO ability will trigger at the moment of intercepting, however [Melody] is lost, and other [Melody] units on your (VC) and (RC) lose “Intercept” and the AUTO ability.

Colorful Pastorale, Caro (V-EB05/005)

Q: In the case where there are multiple copies of this unit, when a unit with [Melody] boosts, does it gain multiple stacks of [Power]+5000 from its CONT ability shared from this unit?
A: Yes, it does. It gains [Power]+5000 multiplied by the number of copies of this unit on (VC) or (RC).

Top Star, Cier (V-EB05/006)

Q: If you have less than seven cards in your deck, can you still play this unit’s AUTO ability?
A: Yes, you can. In this case, look at as many cards from the top of your deck as possible.

Q: Your opponent’s “Exculpate the Blaster” (V-MB01/001) attacks all of your units. Are your rear-guards in the same column as this unit attacked?
A: No, they are not attacked. All units other than the other rear-guards in the same column as this unit are attacked.

LIR Rulings – Iryna, Loura, and Anezka

Q: If there are less than ten cards in your deck, can you resolve the effect of “reveal ten cards from the top of your deck”?
A: Yes, you can. In this case, reveal as many cards from the top of your deck as possible.

Q: When ten cards were revealed with this unit’s AUTO ability, the normal units have different names, but the trigger units have the same name. Can you apply the respective effect?
A: Yes, you can. You only need all the normal units to have different names.

Q: When ten cards were revealed with this unit’s AUTO ability, there are no normal units revealed. Can you apply the respective effect?
A: Yes, you can.

Q: When ten cards were revealed with this unit’s AUTO ability, one normal unit was revealed. Can you apply the respective effect?
A: Yes, you can.

Unparalleled Ingenuity, Loura (V-EB05/008)

Q: Is it possible to call multiple cards to the same (RC) with the effect of “call any number of the revealed cards to (RC)”?
A: No, it is not. Each (RC) you call to must be different, and you can only call one unit to one (RC).

Q: With the effect of “call any number of the revealed cards to (RC)”, can you call a trigger unit?
A: Yes, you can, provided the condition of “if all of the normal units revealed have different card names”.

Heart Monopoly, Anezka (V-EB05/009)

Q: When resolving the effect of “you get one Imaginary Gift: Force, Accel, and Protect in any order”, you get Imaginary Gift: Accel first. Can you specify the circle gained with Imaginary Gift: Accel with Imaginary Gift: Force?
A: Yes, you can. Circles gained with Imaginary Gift: Accel are (RC), so they can be specified by Imaginary Gift: Force.

Q: You acquired an Imaginary Gift: Force by riding this unit. Is it possible to resolve the effect of “you get one Imaginary Gift: Force, Accel, and Protect in any order” and get Imaginary Gifts other than Force?
A: Yes, it is. Acquiring the three Imaginary Gifts is not by resolving the Imaginary Gift Icon. So you can acquire the three different Imaginary Gifts, including Accel and Protect which is different from this unit’s Imaginary Gift Icon.
*Section 10.6.3 of the Comprehensive Rules state the following: after you have ridden a card with “Imaginary Gift: Force” and resolved it, when you ride a card with “Imaginary Gift: Accel”, you will not resolve “Imaginary Gift: Accel”.
*This ruling basically explains that getting an Imaginary Gift by riding works differently from getting an Imaginary Gift by your card’s ability. By riding, you can only get one type of Imaginary Gift. But with card abilities, you can get different Imaginary Gifts.

Q: After resolving the effect of “you get one Imaginary Gift: Force, Accel, and Protect in any order”, I rode a card with the Imaginary Gift Icon of Imaginary Gift: Force. Can I resolve it and get Imaginary Gift: Force?
A: If you did not resolve the Imaginary Gift Icon of either Imaginary Gift: Accel or Protect, then you may resolve the Imaginary Gift Icon of Imaginary Gift: Force. An Imaginary Gift obtained my a method other than the Imaginary Gift Icons does not limit the resolving of Imaginary Gift Icons.
*This may be a tricky ruling to understand, but the basic thing to understand is that getting an Imaginary Gift by riding works differently from getting an Imaginary Gift by your card’s ability.

Fluffy Mystery, Prune (V-EB05/014)

Q: Does this unit’s AUTO ability with the condition of “When your deck is shuffled by your card ability” trigger if the deck has only one card?
A: Yes, it does.

Rainy Tear, Stezza (V-EB05/015)

Q: If you choose not to pay the cost of “retire this unit”, can you still pay the cost of “Counter Blast (1) & put a grade 3 card from your drop zone on the bottom of your deck” and resolve the effect of “draw a card”?
A: No, you cannot. If you do not pay the cost of “retire this unit”, you cannot resolve the rest of the effect after “then”.

Shapely Eyes, Ruhe (V-EB05/017)

Q: If you draw more than one card with a card ability, does the effect of “this unit gets [Power]+5000” stack?
A: No, it does not stack according to the number of cards drawn.

Q: If you called this card after drawing a card with a card ability, does this unit’s CONT ability apply?
A: Yes, it does.

Friendly High Touch, Choltia (V-EB05/020), same rulings apply to Very Sweet Girl, Laveur (V-EB05/024)

Q: During the Guard Step of the battle that this unit is attacking, your opponent called two guardians for the first time this turn. Does the effect of [Power]+15000 apply?
A: No, it does not. This unit’s AUTO ability with the condition of “When it attacks” resolve during the Attack Step, which occurs before the Guard Step.

Q: Does the condition of “if your opponent called a total of two or more guardians during this turn” count for intercepting?
A: No, it does not. Intercept is moving from an (RC) to the (GC), and is not the same as calling.

Reverberator, Dies (V-EB05/021)

Q: Does the effect of [Shield]+5000 stack for each of your grade 3 rear-guards?
A: No, it does not.

Q: Are both of this unit’s CONT abilities active during your opponent’s turn?
A: Yes, they are.

Beloved Nature, Fol (V-EB05/022)

Q: If you called multiple rear-guards this turn, does the effect of [Power]+2000 stack?
A: No, it does not stack according to the number of rear-guards called.

Q: This card and another rear-guard were called at the same time. Is the condition of “if you called another rear-guard this turn” satisfied?
A: Yes, it will be satisfied even if you called both at the same time.

Admirative Solo, Atori (V-EB05/023)

Q: How does this unit’s CONT ability work?
A: This unit cannot be chosen by your opponent’s card effects which state “choose” in its card text. Even if the effect does not choose, it will not be retired by your opponent’s card effects. However, it can still be affected by effects that neither “choose” nor “retire”.

Welcome Sing, Uvuli (V-EB05/032)

Q: If you called multiple rear-guards this turn, does the effect of [Power]+5000 stack?
A: No, it does not stack according to the number of rear-guards called.

Mischievous Overload, Schiller (V-EB05/036), same ruling applies to Dance Queen, Pullach (V-EB05/039)

Q: Is this unit’s CONT ability active during your opponent’s turn?
A: Yes, it is.

Source

Kyrus Darkblade

Ponders on how to make Link Joker great again

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons